JavaScript must be enabled to display this page properly.

The Architectural Archives was formed in 1986 as the Sesquicentennial Project of the Austin Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Architectural drawings, job files, photographs, and personal papers of various local architects comprise these Archives. The bulk of these files date from the 1920s. Of interest to many researchers are the more than 35,000 drawings representing the work of approximately 150 architects on 2,300 projects.

photo of drawing for 1930 Travis County Courthouse interior frieze
Detail for large district courtrooms, plans for the Travis County Courthouse, 1929. Page Brothers Architects.

For instance, we have the Page Brothers' ink on linen drawings of the 1930 Travis County Courthouse. Also in our architectural archives are the 1938 original drawings by Arthur Fehr of the First English Evangelical Lutheran Church. The History Center houses many architectural drawings from the firm of Bell, Klein, and Hoffman, among them those for the restoration of the Neil-Cochran House and those for the restoration of St. Mary's Cathedral.

Over 150 architects and firms are represented in our collection, including:

  • Bell, Klein & Hoffman
  • Fehr & Granger
  • Winfred O. Gustafson
  • August Watkins Harris
  • Jessen, Jessen, Milhouse & Greeven
  • Kuehne, Brooks & Barr
  • Lundgren & Maurer
  • Page Southerland Page

Explore our other collections.